Winners in Malaysia Property Award 2016 by Fiabci Malaysian Chapter

img-20161117-wa0006.jpgIt was an honour for me to have been invited by my good friend Michael Geh to attend the 2016 Malaysia Property Award in One World Hotel recently. Here, I would like to share the Press Release by the organiser. Instead of just any property, how about buying an award winning property? Sometimes, for the same price, it definitely feels better when you introduce your property as an award winning one to your friends. 🙂  The below are the winners in the recent Malaysia Property Awards organised by Fiabci Malaysian Chapter.
KUALA LUMPUR – FIABCI Malaysian Chapter celebrated the 24th anniversary of Malaysia Property AwardTM yesterday with 13 winners, including two individual awards, the Property Man, Tan Sri Dato’ Danny Tan Chee Sing, the Founder and Advisor of Tropicana Corporation Berhad, and Mr. Lee Liam Chye, the Group Chief Executive Officer of Perdana ParkCity Sdn Bhd
The awards presentation ceremony which was held at a gala dinner yesterday was graced by D.Y.M.M Sultan Ibrahim Ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar, Sultan of Johor.
13 awards were given at the Ceremony including two individual awards, they are:
Property Man – Tan Sri Dato’ Danny Tan Chee Sing, Tropicana Corporation Bhd
Property CEO – Mr. Lee Liam Chye, Perdana ParkCity Sdn Bhd
Environmental (Rehabilitation/Conservation) Category – Sungai Satu River Rehabilitation by Selangor Dredging Berhad
Hotel Category – G Hotel, Kelawai submitted by Architect T.Y Au
Industrial Category – Hap Seng Star Mercedes-Benz Autohaus @ Balakong by Hap Seng Land Sdn Bhd
Master Plan Category – Bandar Rimbayu by IJM Land Bhd
Office Category – Menara LGB by Bellworth Developments Sdn Bhd
Public Sector Category – Menara Kerja Raya 2 (KRR) by Public Work Department Malaysia (JKR)
Purpose Built Category – Chengal House by Paramount Corporation Berhad
Residential (High Rise) category – One Tanjung by Province Valley Sdn Bhd
Residential (Mid Rise) category – By The Sea by Selangor Dredging Berhad
Residential (Low Rise) category – Senibong Cove – Isola Villas by Front Concept Sdn Bhd
Retail category – IOI City Mall by IOI City Mall Sdn Bhd
FIABCI Malaysia President YM Tengku Dato’ Ab. Aziz Tengku Mahmud congratulated the winners and pointed out that the Award serves as a benchmark and driving force for developers to continue to develop more creative and innovative projects that benefit the entire industry. Ab. Aziz is pleased to observe that excellent development projects were already in the market and these projects have raised the bar among local property development that only led to one conclusion which is that local developers’ capabilities were greatly proven.
“One of the members of the Panel of Jury from overseas was so amazed by the creativity, technology and innovation of the participating projects, that he commented that Malaysian development projects are even greater than those in his own country!” added Ab. Aziz.
Meanwhile, on the other hand, Dr Yu Kee Su, the Secretary General of FIABCI Malaysia cum the Organising Chairman of the Award was proud that said the Organising Committee is entrusted with the task of upholding the premium standard of the evaluation process and judging criteria.
One of the efforts including adding a new assessment criteria that was approved this year, i.e safety and maintenance. It has become relevant, as according to Fire and Rescue Services Department, about 6,000 premises are destroyed by fire every year.
Without regular maintenance and property safety system in place, Dr Yu said, fire could happen even when all buildings were Uniform Building By-Laws compliant and granted Certificate of Completion and Compliance (CCC). Hence, he said, adding safety and maintenance into the judging criteria will increase the awareness on the importance of building safety and maintenance and, perhaps, encourage the authorities to make it a compulsory practice in future development projects.
Yu pointed out that the entire judging process of the Award was conducted in a professional manner whereby the Organising Committee had to abstain from the evaluation and judging process. “Evaluators appointed are senior management staff in real estate industry with vast experience while the Panel of Jury members and Independent Judges are not directly related to FIABCI Malaysia. This is to ensure a transparent and fair judging process. The final marks computated are verified by an Independent Auditor.” added Yu.
Ab. Aziz said that several Independent Judges have opined that the Malaysia Property AwardTM has contributed significantly to the growth of the Malaysian real estate industry as it sets a stringent and high judging standard which in turn serves as a benchmark for continuous improvement by local developers to achieve greater height in their future project development planning.
The push for excellence has spurred local property development to achieve a standard that is at par with international level. “The blueprint and judging criteria of Malaysia Property AwardTM is mirrored by FIABCI World Prix d’Excellence Awards at the international arena!’’ exclaimed Dr Yu.
img-20161117-wa0007.jpgHe added that the high standard of Malaysian developers is evident when they succeeded to bag eight awards; four gold and four silver, at the FIABCI World Prix d’Excellence Awards 2016 which was held recently at Panama City, Panama on 25th May 2016 which gives him a boost of confidence that local developers will do well with this year’s winning projects that are going to participate in the FIABCI World Prix d’Excellence Awards 2017, which will be held at Andorra La Vella, Andorra, in May 2017.
On the same note, Dr Yu urged all property developers irrespective of the sizes of their property developments, to take part in the Malaysia Property AwardTM and he reiterated that the award’s objective is to ‘Recognise Excellence in Real Estate Development’ and the judging criteria for participating projects is based on overall merits, not the sizes of the buildings.
next suggested article:   Fiabci Prix d’Excellence Awards 2016 – Malaysian winners


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *